How to delete a Facebook group?

On Facebook, making a group could be both helpful for finding your friends or family members -even if they are overseas- and have a nice chat with them and also participate in peer groups, to learn something new and upgrade your skills. But sometimes, some issues make you decide to put an end to all of these trends and simply quit it.

Introduction

There are few things you should care about; the process of deleting a Facebook group depends on your status in that group. If you are an admin and created the page, you can delete it without facing any problem. Note by deleting the page, other members will not be notified. If you are an admin but have not created that page, you are only allowed to delete it if the original creator of the page has left the group.

Another important tip you should be informed of is that deleting a group is a permanent process and if you are only the admin of the group, you can just archive it (no new member will join).

Deleting Facebook group via a desktop browser

1- Go to Facebook’s main page and navigate to “Groups”.

2- Choose the group you are willing to delete.

3- Navigate to “members” on the left side.

4- Tap on the “More” button next to each member’s name and select “Remove from Group”. Check “Confirm”.

5- After all members are removed, select the “More” button next to your name. Select the “Leave Group” and then “Leave And Delete”.

Deleting Facebook group via mobile app

Fortunately, you can delete your group both on your Android or iPhone device.

1- Open the Facebook app on your phone, tap on the “menu” tab and then select “Groups”.

2- Select “see all” next to “your groups” and then select “see all” below “groups you manage” to see all your groups.

3- Open the group that you suppose to delete

4- Tap on the name of the group, and then select “see all” to view all of the members.

5- Tap on each person’s name and select “remove member” to remove him/her from the group.

6- Once all the members are deleted, tap on your name and select “Leave the group”. Once Facebook confirms that you are left, select “Leave and Delete” to delete the group.

Conclusion 

Many users decide to leave Facebook, though there are a number of ways to do so. Users can change their notifications settings or leave the groups, and pages they were into. Fortunately, Facebook has given the rights to all users to change their privacy and settings as they are convenient.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.