What is Facebook Timeline and how to use it?

What is Facebook Timeline and how to use it?

Many people have been using Facebook for a long time, and some of them dedicate 10 hours of a day for Facebook viewing. However, have you heard about Facebook Timeline and what it is used for? These posts will explain it more for you.

What is Facebook Timeline?

Facebook Timeline is a social media feature introduced in September 2011 and rolled out to all users in February 2012. At first, the feature was optional, but later in 2012, it was an obligation for all users.

The primary purpose of Facebook Timeline is to combine a user’s Facebook Wall and Profile into one page, creating a more visually holistic profile. Timeline reorganizes all stored user information for display rather than archival. It uses almost all data, including the user’s Facebook history and critical life events, such as birthdays, weddings, and other significant events.

Who sees my Timeline on Facebook?

By the standards of Facebook’s privacy, your Friends will be able to visit your Timeline and see any information that has been added to it by you. If you posted a public status update, then anyone who visits your Timeline will be able to view that update and any other public updates you have made on Facebook. Furthermore, your Likes are also visible on your Timeline since Likes are used in advertising and are considered general information on Facebook.

Chronology

To get familiar with Timeline, let’s talk about what we can see on the page. At the top left of your Timeline, you can add more events, status updates, and photos. If you click on the blue line running down the middle of the page, you will be invited to share more photos, “Life events,” status updates, and locations.

In the next step, scroll down to move back in time, and the persistent calendar at the top suitable slides down the page with you so you can hone in specific years and months. More after, when you scroll down far enough where your Cover image can’t be seen, a new navigation bar appears with dropdowns to jump to different years for the better posting of an updated status.

How to use Facebook Timeline

When friends visit your Timeline, they will also see a version of the Share box that you see. They can’t add life events, but they can post text and photos to your Timeline.

Furthermore, Timeline includes integration with Timeline Apps, allowing Facebook users to post activities on other apps. For example, a Pinterest user might give Facebook permission to post their Pinterest activities to the Facebook news feed.

Note that you can also limit who can see the posts your friends leave. To set the limitation, follow the steps;

  1. Go to the “Timeline and Tagging” section from the “Settings” page.
  2. Now look for the settings related to who can post on your Timeline and who can see what others post on your Timeline.
  3. Set the limitation for that user or all your feed.

Learn about Activity Log

Activity Log shows everything about you that’s been logged on Facebook. Fortunately, this is just accessible for you, and this level of detail is visible only to you. You can browse your firehose of personal data by year, month, day, hour, and minute. Finally, you can tweak your Timeline by Activity Log. To use this feature, click on the circle to the right side of each status update to feature, allow, hide it on your profile, or delete it entirely.

Summary

Thank you for reading this post. Never forget that the best way to get used to the Timeline is to start using it. So start writing a message for your friend on their Timeline; the whole purpose of this feature is to share with friends. If you need help, you can also visit the Facebook website and read for more information.

No comments yet. Be the first one to leave a thought.
Leave a comment

Leave a Comment